Skip to Main Content

Accessing the TUT Library and Information Services eBooks

Understanding and accessing eBooks

ACCESSING E-BOOKS FROM THE TUT LIS DISCOVERY SERVICE

 

INTRODUCTION

A Discovery Service is an online tool that enables easy searching from various library systems  across a wide range of databases and content platforms.  The service offers another method for discovering content the TUT LIS currently offers accurately and efficiently.  

 

The TUT LIS currently use the EBSCO Discovery service.  The EBSCO Discovery Service is an all-inclusive search solution that makes in-depth research easy to search across most of our licensed and open content, accept for a few.  This will therefore include the TUT Catalogue, TUT DoR, Bibliographic and Citation Databases, the Publisher Databases as well as the Aggregator Databases.  It is therefore understandable that not all of the records being displayed after a search are not all in full text available, but can be filtered to only make full text content available.

 

To know more about the EBSCO Discovery Services and how to use it, visit the EBSCO Discovery Tool website link.

 

HOW TO ACCESS THE TUT LIS DISCOVERY SERVICE: ON-CAMPUS

 

The TUT LIS Discovery Service can be accessed via the TUT website or directly via the TUT LIS website.  No authentication is necessary to use the TUT LIS Discovery Service on-campus.

 

Method 1:  How to access the TUT LIS Discovery Service from the TUT website

  1. Go to the TUT website: www.tut.ac.za
  2. On the bottom right hand side of the site, click on the Library and Information Services link

Accessing the TUT Library and Information Services On-Campus

  1. Once on the TUT LIS website, follow the instructions from Method 2, step 2
 

Method 2 - Via the TUT LIS Website

  1. Go to the TUT LIS Website:  https://lib.tut.ac.za
  2. Just after the graphics on this page is a Search Box. 

  3. Enter your search terms in the Search Box and hit enter.

  1. Once you hit enter, the search results will appear.

 

HOW TO ACCESS TUT LIS DISCOVERY SERVICE OFF-CAMPUS

The TUT LIS Discovery Service can be accessed via the TUT website or directly via the TUT LIS website.  Because the licensed electronic content is accessed off-campus, your IP address connected to the Internet is not registered with the vendors, and therefore you will need to authentication yourself, as a registered TUT user.

 

Method 1:  How to access the TUT LIS Discovery Service from the TUT website

  1. Go to the TUT website: www.tut.ac.za
  2. On the bottom right hand side of the site, click on the Library and Information Services link

Accessing the TUT Library and Information Services On-Campus

 

  1. Once on the TUT LIS website, follow the instructions from Method 2, step 2
 

Method 2 - Via the TUT LIS Website

  1. Go to the TUT LIS Website:  https://lib.tut.ac.za
  2. Just after the graphics on this page is a Search Box. 

  3. Enter your search terms in the Search Box and hit enter.

 

  1. Once you hit enter, the search results will appear.  As you move through the result list, you will notice that many of the records require login detail to access the data.

 

  1. To see the hidden content it is necessary to log in.
  2. To Log In, please go to the top of the page, and click on the Welcome Guest link to log in. 

  1. Once the Welcome Guest link has been selected, the Login Screen will open up
  2. Please enter your Name and Surname as username and your Staff/Student Number as password.  This will be as you are registered with TUT

 

  1. Once you have entered you credentials, click on the Submit button.
  2. You will now be directed to your result list and you can continue conducting your searches, and move through your result list, to find the information required.

 

  1. If you struggle with access, please contact the library for assistance.
  2. Enjoy your searching experience.

 

HOW TO ACCESS THE E-BOOKS BY APPLYING FILTERS

Once you have completed you search with the result list, on the screen, please apply the following filters, on the left side of the screen:

 

1.  Full Text

Click on the Full Text filter

 

2.  eBooks

After the Full Text Filter has been applied, scroll down to find the Source Type filter and click on the arrow behind it.  Once all the options is visible, click on the eBooks option.  Please remember that not all the eBooks on EDS is is Full Text available as some of the results are sourced from Indexes, which are only lists of books available.

 

Browse through the list of eBooks available.  

 

Click on the eBook format required and listed in order to open the full text.

 

Hope you have an enjoyable experience and do not hesitate to contact the library should you need further assistance.