Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How do I access the TUT Library and Information Services Electronic Resources

A step-by-step guide on how to access the TUT Library and Information Services Electronic Resources

The TUT LIS Electronic Resource Collections

ACCESSING THE TUT LIS ELECTRONIC RESOURCES

The Tshwane University of Technology (TUT) Library and Information Services (LIS) subscribe or own a number of licensed electronic resource collections, accessible on- and off-campus for all registered students and staff members.  The TUT LIS currently have full text access to approximately 30,000 e-journals, 400,000 e-books, 5,000 real-time newspapers and popular magazines from various publishers.  We also subscribe to multiple bibliographic and citation databases.

 

In order to access these resources off-campus, it is necessary to identify yourself as a registered staff or student from TUT.  On-Campus, the IP Range of the university is already registered with most of our content providers and therefore identification are not necessary.  Because we cannot register each and every person's off-campus individual IP address, which in most cases are not static, it is easier to make these resources accessible with your own personal credentials.

 

This purpose of this guide is to assist our TUT LIS users, on how to access these credible academic electronic resource collections, licensed by TUT.

 

HOW TO GUIDES IN THIS LIBGUIDE ARE AS FOLLOWS

This guide will provide you with the following information:

  1. How to access Electronic Resources
  2. Background information on the types of electronic resources licensed by TUT
  3. How to access the Electronic Resources on-campus via the TUT Discovery Service
  4. How to access the Electronic Resources off-campus via the TUT Discovery Service
  5. Information on what a Discovery Tool and Service are
  6. How to access specific Electronic Resources via the TUT LIS Databases: A-Z List on-campus
  7. How to access specific Electronic Resources via the TUT LIS Databases: A-Z List off-campus

 

HOW TO ACCESS THE TUT LIS LICENSED ELECTRONIC ACCESS

There are mainly two ways to access the licensed resources.  The first being from the TUT LIS main website by using the TUT Discovery Service; whereby entering your search terms, the search conducted will search across most of the licensed content with one single search.  The other way is to use specific licensed collections by selecting the database from the TUT LIS A-Z List of Electronic Resources.  In the pages below we will explain more about accessing these resources on- and off-campus.

 

The links to access the TUT LIS licensed electronic resources, are as follows:

 

TUT LIS Discovery Service
TUT LIS A-Z List of Electronic Resources